Computer Science PAC

DEFINITION | COMMITTEE MEMBERS
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Computer Science

Computer science or computing science is the scientific and practical approach to computation and its applications. A computer scientist specializes in the theory of computation and the design of computational systems.

Its subfields can be divided into a variety of theoretical and practical disciplines. Some fields, such as computational complexity theory (which explores the fundamental properties of computational problems), are highly abstract, whilst fields such as computer graphics emphasize real-world visual applications. Still other fields focus on the challenges in implementing computation. For example, programming language theory considers various approaches to the description of computation, whilst the study of computer programming itself investigates various aspects of the use of programming language and complex systems. Human-computer interaction considers the challenges in making computers and computations useful, usable, and universally accessible to humans.

SOURCE: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computer_science

Computer Science Committee Members

NOTE: Not all institutions have members on committees. For a four-year institution to have a member on a Professional Academic Committee (PAC), they must have at least one major in the discipline area (verified by the ACHE Academic Program Inventory). The two-year institutions are allowed to name up to two non-voting members to serve on the committee. Four-year members of academic committees are appointed by the Institution's Point of Contact. Two-year non-voting members are appointed by the Alabama Community College System office. For more information about the PACs, click here.

4-YEAR MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
AAMU
Yujian Fu yujian.fu@aamu.edu
ASU
Iraj Danesh idanesh@alasu.edu
ATHENS
Brady Rimes brady.rimes@athens.edu
AU
T. Dean Hendrix hendrtd@auburn.edu
AUM
Luis Cueva-Parra lcuevapa@aum.edu
JSU
Sri Krishnaprasah skp@jsu.edu
TROY
Bill Zhong jzhong@troy.edu
UA
David Cordes (NON-VOTING) david.cordes@ua.edu
UAB
John F. Ranelli ranelli@uab.edu
UAH
Letha Etzkorn etzkorl@uah.edu
UM
NA NA
UNA
Patricia Roden plroden@una.edu
USA
Melissa Smith mesmith@southalabama.edu
UWA
NA NA
2-YEAR NON-VOTING MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
JSCC
Hal Harris hharris@jeffersonstate.edu
TSCC
Ken Scott kscott@trenholmstate.edu

[ C ] - Current Chairperson
[ VC ] - Current Vice-Chairperson