Engineering PAC

DEFINITION | COMMITTEE MEMBERS
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Engineering

Engineering combines the fields of science and maths to solve real world problems that improve the world around us. What really distinguishes an engineer is his ability to implement ideas in a cost effective and practical approach. This ability to take a thought, or abstract idea, and translate it into reality is what separates an engineer from other fields of science and mathematics.

Engineers are problem solvers, organisers, communicators, calculators and designers. They are capable of clearly defining a problem and its relevant constraints (such as time, cost, etc.) and providing a simple solution. A senior engineer will usually perform less technical work (calculations and designs) but instead focus on managing a project or team of engineers.

SOURCE: http://whatisengineering.com/

Engineering Committee Members

NOTE: Not all institutions have members on committees. For a four-year institution to have a member on a Professional Academic Committee (PAC), they must have at least one major in the discipline area (verified by the ACHE Academic Program Inventory). The two-year institutions are allowed to name up to two non-voting members to serve on the committee. Four-year members of academic committees are appointed by the Institution's Point of Contact. Two-year non-voting members are appointed by the Alabama Community College System office. For more information about the PACs, click here.

4-YEAR MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
AAMU
Chance Gleen chance.glenn@aamu.edu
ASU
Derrick Dean ddean@alasu.edu
ATHENS
NA NA
AU
Chris Roberts robercr@auburn.edu
AUM
NA NA
JSU
NA NA
TROY
NA NA
UA
Chuck Karr ckarr@eng.ua.edu
UAB
Iwan Alexander ialex@uab.edu
UAH
Shankar Mahalingam Shankar.Mahalingam@uah.edu
UM
NA NA
UNA
Pete Rim prim@una.edu
USA
John Steadman [ C ] jsteadman@usouthal.edu
UWA
NA NA
TUSKEGEE
Heshmat Aglan (NON-VOTING) aglanh@mytu.tuskegee.edu
2-YEAR NON-VOTING MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
CACC
JD Stark jdstark@cacc.edu
BVCC
Ken Swinney ken.swinney@bscc.edu

[ C ] - Current Chairperson
[ VC ] - Current Vice-Chairperson