Liberal Arts and Studies PAC

DEFINITION | COMMITTEE MEMBERS
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Liberal Arts and Studies

The purpose of the Bachelor of Liberal Studies or Liberal Arts degree is to provide students with a solid multidisciplinary preparation in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences and the Arts, subsequently allowing them to pursue careers in education, business, government, and other such fields. The goal of a liberal studies major is to train students to communicate effectively, both orally and in writing, to develop skills in critical thinking and problem solving, and to imbue critical thinking with ethical thought. Liberal studies provides students with opportunities for an extensive study of the liberal arts and sciences and for a broad understanding of various academic fields of interest.

SOURCE: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bachelor_of_Liberal_Studies


Liberal Arts and Studies Committee Members

NOTE: Not all institutions have members on committees. For a four-year institution to have a member on a Professional Academic Committee (PAC), they must have at least one major in the discipline area (verified by the ACHE Academic Program Inventory). The two-year institutions are allowed to name up to two non-voting members to serve on the committee. Four-year members of academic committees are appointed by the Institution's Point of Contact. Two-year non-voting members are appointed by the Alabama Community College System office. For more information about the PACs, click here.

4-YEAR MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
AAMU
Berneece Herbert berneece.herbert@aamu.edu
ASU
NA NA
ATHENS
Ron Fritze Ron.Fritze@athens.edu
AU
NA NA
AUM
Jan Bulman jbulman1@aum.edu
JSU
Gordon Harvey gharvey@jsu.edu
TROY
Steven Taylor sltaylor@troy.edu
UA
Fred Whiting fwhiting@ua.edu
UAB
Kimberly Schnormeier kaschnor@uab.edu
UAH
NA NA
UM
NA NA
UNA
NA NA
USA
NA NA
UWA
NA NA
2-YEAR NON-VOTING MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
NACC
Jody Ragsdale ragsdalej@nacc.edu
Coastal
Thomas Lovoy Thomas.lovoy@coastalalabama.edu

[ C ] - Current Chairperson
[ VC ] - Current Vice-Chairperson