Mass Communication PAC

DEFINITION | COMMITTEE MEMBERS
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mass Communication

Mass communication is the study of how individuals and entities relay information through mass media to large segments of the population at the same time. It is usually understood to relate to newspaper, magazine, and book publishing, as well as radio, television and film, as these mediums are used for disseminating information, news and advertising. Mass communication differs from the studies of other forms of communication, such as interpersonal communication or organizational communication, in that it focuses on a single source transmitting information to a large group of receivers. The study of mass communication is chiefly concerned with how the content of mass communication persuades or otherwise affects the behavior, attitude, opinion, or emotion of the person or people receiving the information.

SOURCE: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass_communication


Mass Communication Committee Members

NOTE: Not all institutions have members on committees. For a four-year institution to have a member on a Professional Academic Committee (PAC), they must have at least one major in the discipline area (verified by the ACHE Academic Program Inventory). The two-year institutions are allowed to name up to two non-voting members to serve on the committee. Four-year members of academic committees are appointed by the Institution's Point of Contact. Two-year non-voting members are appointed by the Alabama Community College System office. For more information about the PACs, click here.

4-YEAR MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
AAMU
Edward Journey grover.journey@aamu.edu
ASU
Leslie Byrd lbyrd@alasu.edu
ATHENS
NA NA
AU
George Plasketes plaskgm@auburn.edu
AUM
Matthew Killmeier mkillmei@aum.edu
JSU
Kingsley Harbor kharbor@jsu.edu
TROY
Jeff Spurlock [ C ] spurlock@troy.edu
UA
Alyson Jarnagin aljarnagin@ua.edu
UAB
Marcus L. Hickson, III hickson@uab.edu
UAH
Clarke Rountree rountrj@uah.edu
UM
Randall Scott scottr@montevallo.edu
UNA
Butler Cain bcain1@una.edu
USA
Mia Anderson miaanderson@southalabama.edu
UWA
NA NA
2-YEAR NON-VOTING MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
Coastal
Kelly Kendall Kelly.kendall@coastalalabama.edu
JSCC Vernon R. Harrison vharri12@jeffersonstate.edu

[ C ] - Current Chairperson
[ VC ] - Current Vice-Chairperson