Nursing PAC

DEFINITION | COMMITTEE MEMBERS
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nursing

Nurses promote health, prevent disease, and help patients cope with illness. They have a unique scope of practice and can practice independently, although they also collaborate with all members of the healthcare team to provide the care needed by each patient as an individual. Nurses are hands-on health professionals who provide focused and highly personalized care. The field has a wide range of career opportunities, ranging from entry-level practitioner to doctoral-level researcher.

Nurses also serve as advocates for patients, families, and communities. They develop and manage nursing care plans; instruct patients and their families in proper care; and help individuals and groups take steps to improve or maintain their health.

Although an entry-level nurse can find a job with a three-year RN degree, there is a growing national movement to require all nurses to hold a BSN. An increasing number of nursing schools are offering accelerated bachelor's and master's degree programs. There also are a growing number of RN-to-MSN and MSN-to-doctoral programs, designed to meet the increasing demand for more highly skilled nurses in the workforce.

SOURCE: http://explorehealthcareers.org/en/Field/6/Nursing


Nursing Committee Members

NOTE: Not all institutions have members on committees. For a four-year institution to have a member on a Professional Academic Committee (PAC), they must have at least one major in the discipline area (verified by the ACHE Academic Program Inventory). The two-year institutions are allowed to name up to two non-voting members to serve on the committee. Four-year members of academic committees are appointed by the Institution's Point of Contact. Two-year non-voting members are appointed by the Alabama Community College System office. For more information about the PACs, click here.

4-YEAR MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
AAMU
NA NA
ASU
NA NA
ATHENS
NA NA
AU
Eleanor Howell eyh0004@auburn.edu
AUM
Jean Leuner jleuner@aum.edu
JSU
Betsy Gulledge gulledge@jsu.edu
TROY
Wade Forehand jforehand@troy.edu
UA
Robin M. Lawson rmlawson@ua.edu
UAB
Linda Moneyham moneyham@uab.edu
UAH
C. Fay Raines rainesc@email.uah.edu
UM
NA NA
UNA
Vicki G. Pierce vgpierce@una.edu
USA
Debra Davis [ C ] ddavis@usouthal.edu
UWA
NA NA
2-YEAR NON-VOTING MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
BVCC
Penne Mott pmott@bscc.edu
CVCC
Resa Lord resa.lord@cv.edu

[ C ] - Current Chairperson
[ VC ] - Current Vice-Chairperson