Social Work PAC

DEFINITION | COMMITTEE MEMBERS
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Social Work

Are you looking for a career that is rewarding yet challenging? Do you want to contribute to society by helping people overcome difficulties and improve their lives? Social work is an exciting career area that is highly related to psychology. While many people who work in this field start by earning an undergraduate degree in social work before moving on to graduate school, some psychology majors opt to switch to a social work master's program after earning their degrees.

So what exactly is a social worker? These mental health professionals help people with a wide range of issues, including psychological, financial, health, relationship, and substance abuse problems. Learn more about what social workers do, the educational requirements, and the projected job outlook for the field.

SOURCE: http://psychology.about.com/od/psychologycareerprofiles/p/social-worker.htm


Social Work Committee Members

NOTE: Not all institutions have members on committees. For a four-year institution to have a member on a Professional Academic Committee (PAC), they must have at least one major in the discipline area (verified by the ACHE Academic Program Inventory). The two-year institutions are allowed to name up to two non-voting members to serve on the committee. Four-year members of academic committees are appointed by the Institution's Point of Contact. Two-year non-voting members are appointed by the Alabama Community College System office. For more information about the PACs, click here.

4-YEAR MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
AAMU
Tonya Perry Tonya.perry@aamu.edu
ASU
Turenza Smith tsmith@alasu.edu
ATHENS
NA NA
AU
Carole Zugazaga zugazcb@auburn.edu
AUM
NA NA
JSU
Kimberly Wickersham kwickersham@jsu.edu
TROY
Jeff Waller rjwaller@troy.edu
UA
Javonda Williams jwilliams11@sw.ua.edu
UAB
Chris Walker cdwalker@uab.edu
UAH
NA NA
UM
Brendan Beal bbeal@montevallo.edu
UNA
John Hodges jhodges@una.edu
USA
Stephen Young smyoung@southalabama.edu
UWA
NA NA
2-YEAR NON-VOTING MEMBERS
Institution
Name
E-Mail
SSCC
Kevin Burns kburns@sheltonstate.edu
GSCC
Tina Whittington twhittington@gadsdenstate.edu

[ C ] - Current Chairperson
[ VC ] - Current Vice-Chairperson